Giants and A Smokin’ Hot Traitor ~ Let’s Discuss To Nowhere by CE Wilson

 A world no one would believe.
From the moment Lyris is treated to coffee by a beautiful stranger, she has no idea that her life is about to change forever. In her enthusiasm to start at a new school with a new boyfriend, Lyris is almost able to look past his oddities. Almost. The way he eyes up her striking red hair. The way he loves that she’s seventeen. “The perfect age.”

And the way he’s gone from all but begging to show her a specific room in a specific house to making her swear never to even think about it again.

When Lyris doesn’t take his strange warnings seriously, she finds that nothing could have prepared her for what lay behind that door. Suddenly, Lyris finds herself in a world no one would believe. A world where she’s only a few inches tall and giants aren’t creatures from fairy tales. Where humans are no longer the dominant race, but pets auctioned off to the highest bidder. Lyris understands the true danger of such a place, but there seems to be one person on her side.

Her kind and surprised captor.

And while Brindt appears to be sweet and trustworthy, he also straddles the line between seeing her as an equal and a cute animal. Lyris has to get home… before the one person she can turn to becomes the one person who can’t let her go. 

BOOK INFO:

To Nowhere by C. E. Wilson

Format & Pages: eBook, 206

Published: July 5th 2015 by C. E. Wilson

Source: The lovely Mrs. Wilson sent me this book for review.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Add to Goodreads | Buy on Amazon

image

THE CHARACTERS

I must say, I really got into this cast of characters. Lyris was a tad aggravating, but despite my best attempts to hate her, I enjoyed seeing her character develop and strengthen. Wyatt, that treacherous little… OOOO! This is a spoiler-free review, so I guess I can’t rant, but Wilson certainly did an amazing job making me loathe him to the fullest. And Brindt… Awwwwwwwwwww. I fell in love with his adorable personality. He was so nice.  Wilson did a good job making them come to life and I was attatched to each one.

THE PLOT

So the long and short of this book is that a spoiled rich girl named Lyris met this hottie named Wyatt, who tricked her into escaping into an alternate universe where giants buy and sell humans and pets. Luckily, a kind giant named Brindt took a liking to her and protected her from being found and sold. They formed a relationship, but Lyris realized that he doesn’t want to let her go back to the human world, or any of the the other humans that are trapped. So she tried to escape, and Wyatt was a jerk and tried to rescue only her, and that’s about it if you don’t want spoilers.

Not too much happened within this plot, to be honest. It wasn’t exactly ‘action-packed’. But Lyris spent a ton of quality time exploring the giant world and language with Brindt. There were quite a few gasp-worthy incidents, and I liked how we were kept on the edge of our seats before we really got to know Brindt because he could be angry or kind at the snap of his fingers.

I honestly wasn’t expecting the end, and I enjoyed the twist. There was a lot of suspense, and the original idea is very unique. So kudos to the author!

WHAT I LIKED

I thought the alternate universe idea was great. Wilson was very confident with her world, and I started believing that there really could be Targeters living in our world, waiting to sell us out to giants.

I also really enjoyed the little relationship that formed between Brindt and Lyris. It was cute and sweet, and there were a lot of “Awww” moments.

WHAT I DISLIKED

As I said before, Lyris was quite annoying. Her persistence to remain with Wyatt after all the terrible things he had done to her really started grating on my nerves. I appreciate that it fit with the story and there was some major development. However, I wish the main character had not made me want to break my e-reader. With a sidekick, this might have been fine. But when the person you are most intimate with constantly angers you, it’s a little… difficult. Perhaps next time, if the sidekick aggravates both us and the main character, then I could enjoy the ribbing.

I also felt that the giant world in which Lyris found herself was a bit off-putting. Mabye this was because it seemed so similar to the human world. Maybe this was because we got so little setting decription. Whatever the reason, I just wish I could have understood it more.

My last, but not least, criticism is the language. Now, I’m a bit divided on this subject because on the one hand, the author seemed quite happy with having the giants talking with the same slang and composition as the humans, and I admire her confidence. But on the other hand, it seemed a little improbable that two very different species that have been living in seperate worlds share almost the exact language. And I know that when the translating collar was off, the giants did have different words. But when it was on, I’m still surprised that Brindt said things that translated into ‘freaking’. Even if you translate Spanish into English, it still doesn’t make sense when translated exactly. You are normally forced to rewrite it a little.

WOULD I RECOMMEND IT?

Absolutely! Despite all its ups and downs, reading this was very fun and engaging. I would highly recommend it to paranormal and sci-fi fans. Don’t be scared because it’s not a huge bestseller. Also, I think it would make an AMAZING movie.
                                                                       

4 STARS = A GREAT READ



 C.E. Wilson is currently living in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania with her husband and her two dogs and two cats. They are all the loves of her life. When she’s not writing young adult fantasy novels, she enjoys writing short stories on her Deviant Art page. She loves to write stories involving giants and little people (also known as GT) and she can’t decide what she loves more: horror movies or shoujo manga. She has a bachelor’s degree in English Education so she has a soft spot for older literature authors including John Milton, William Shakespeare, and stories such as Paradise Lost and Beowolf. On a side note, nothing helps her to write more than drinking some tea and watching The Twilight Zone. Visit her on Goodreads.

Care to chat?

