Characters I Didn’t Click With ~ Top Ten Tuesday #1

imageHello guys! Today I will be taking part in a fun little meme that is hosted by The Broke and Bookish. Here is a little blurb from them about what Top Ten Tuesday is all about:

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.

To join this linkup, click here.

1. Clary Fray from The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.

I did not particularly like Clary as a main character. I thought she was a bit snooty and odd. Also, she had a lot of rather cliché personality traits that I disliked.

2. Prince Dorian Havilliard from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas.

This is one of my favorite series ever, and I would never ever ever diss Sarah’s characters. However, Dorian and Celaena’s love interest felt very forced (at least in the first book), and I guess I never fully understood him.

3. Princess Nehemia from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas.

As you can see, the Throne of Glass series takes up most of my thinking space, so here is another character that just didn’t happen for me. So, Celaena had this huge relationship with Nehemia. But the thing is, I never got what was so special about her. Even rereading it, I didn’t connect. I guess it just differs from person to person.

4. Scarlet from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer.

Let’s be honest: Scarlet was the most rushed book in this quartet. Therefore I feel like it’s normal that I understood and empathized with Scarlet pretty badly. The strang thing is, I really connected with her love interest. Ah, well.

5. Margot from Paper Towns by John Green.

God, I hated this little b*tch. She was so infuriating, even from the beginning! And that ending… Oh, every time I think about it, I want to strangle John Green for being able to anger me so badly.

6. Peeta from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

A lot of people seem to think that Katniss is the cold one in this trilogy. I couldn’t disagree more. I empathized with her so much over the books. But Peeta… I hated him with her, and I hated his goody-two-shoes act even more! Gale was just so much awesomer –  but I digress. Let’s just say that I didn’t click with him, and leave it at that.

7. Luna Lovegood from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.

I always feel so left out when Potterheads exclaim, “Oh, Luna! She’s so quirky and original. I loved her.” Because I was never on that bandwagon. I thought Luna was quite funny, but I didn’t particularly admire her. In fact, I thought she was really very strange.

8. Aspen from The Selection series by Kiera Cass.

I did not understand this guy. At first I loved him. I was TOTALLY on Team Aspen. Then things changed, and I was torn between him and the prince. And I eventually ended up hating his guts! What strange things fictional characters can do to one’s mind, eh?

9. Bianca from The Duff by Kody Keplinger.

Bianca was pretentious and hypocritical to the max. End of story.

10. America Singer from The Selection series by Kiera Cass.

America, America: our leading lady. She had an enjoyable and intelligent personality, but she made some of the dumbest decisions!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

That concludes my meme! Please note that I did not organize this from least-to-greatest or vice-versa because I couldn’t decide which of these buggers I hate most.

Thanks for reading, I’ll see you on Thursday with a review of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. 

Grace.

!

21 thoughts on “Characters I Didn’t Click With ~ Top Ten Tuesday #1

  1. I’m with you on Peeta! I love Gale 🙂 And same for Luna. I didn’t hate her, but I just didn’t connect with her. Someone mentioned Stargirl in another list. Those two remind me of each other. Great post 🙂

    Like

    • Hey, thanks Leslie! LOL Gale is the best forever. Have you watched the How It Should Have Ended cartoon of The Hunger Games? Katniss refuses to eat the berries, but Peeta eats them too fast, and she watches him die as she says, “He’s sweet, but have you seen Gale? Hottie!!!”

      That vid made me laugh so hard. If you agree with me on Peeta, then you should totally go and search that video. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Care to chat?

