Sugar and Spice and Everything Nice ~ Let’s Talk About Me Before You

image

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Book Info:

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
Format & Pages: Paperback, 369
Published: December 31st 2012 by Pamela Dorman Books/ Viking
Source: Bought from my local Athenaeum library.
Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Add to Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

image


THE CHARACTERS

imageThese characters were absolutely fantastic. I adored their quirky traits and personalities. I think the fact that they were English was perfect for the story, and just imagining their voices with a Brit accent made it so much more enjoyable. Even the ones that I don’t talk about here, like Will’s parents and Lou’s boyfriend, were amazing and fit the story beautifully.

Louisa Clark (or Lou), our main character, was so awesome. Her determination to help Will was really admirable, and I just loved her.

Will Traynor… what can I say of Will Traynor? Well, for starters, I just knew that he wasn’t really such a stuck-up prig. It made me so happy when he finally realized his feelings for Louisa, and there were some moments where he honestly made me warm up inside! His personality was also on-point. He was cynical, funny, but he maintained a strict sense of realism throughout the story.

As for Lou’s family, they were perfection in writing. They actually reminded me of Audrey’s family from Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella. There was this one scene where Will’s mother asked Lou to stay over and keep an eye on Will, and when Lou called her parents to let them know about it, well…

“Did you hear that, Bernard?” she said, her hand half over the phone. “They’re paying her to sleep now.” 

I could hear my father’s exclamation.

“Praise the Lord. She’s found her dream career.”

I just laughed my head off, I can tell you. They were perfect.

THE PLOT

 This book has to have one of the sweetest plots I have ever read. It was all so delicate… Lou finding work to support her family, and then discovering that secret that made her job all the more important (no spoilers).

It was unique and gave me a roller coaster ride to remember. This review quote describes it perfectly:

To be devoured like candy, between tears.

That is this book in a nutshell. Unpredictable, making you laugh, and then curl up in sadness. I LOVED IT.

WHAT I LIKED

I basically loved everything. Characters, plot, pacing, tension, setting… you name it, I 😍 it. No joke.

WHAT I DISLIKED

Well, for those of you who have read the book, you know exactly what I didn’t like. For those of you who have yet to read the book, then just wait for the ending. You’ll… you’ll figure it out. *sniff*

FINAL THOUGHTS

They say this book is New Adult, and it is. It deals with a lot of mature themes, but there is absolutely nothing graphic or suggestive. If you are a smart, mature teen who wants to read this, then go ahead. You will love it.

YOU GUYS NEED TO READ THIS NOVEL. It is sadder than Eleanor and Park, funnier than Confessions of a Shopaholic, and perfect everywhere in between.

image

Thanks for reading! I’ll be back on Sunday with my September TBR.

Grace Meredith.

image

Moyes became a full-time novelist in 2002, when her first book Sheltering Rain was published. She continues to write articles for The Daily Telegraph. Moyes is one of only a few authors to have won the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Romantic Novel of the Year Award twice. She first won the award in 2004 for Foreign Fruit and in 2011 for The Last Letter From Your Lover. Moyes lives on a farm in Saffron Walden, Essex with her husband, journalist Charles Arthur, and their three children.

11 thoughts on “Sugar and Spice and Everything Nice ~ Let’s Talk About Me Before You

Care to chat?

