A Few Rambling Thoughts on Music

Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.

I have always been a lover of music. In some small way, or large, I’ve always had a part of my life be centered around music. In my childhood, I adored the acoustic melodies of Bob Dylan and Billy Joel. My mom and I would always dance around, listening to old 80’s music. For my ‘tweenage’ years, it was of course pop. Taylor Swift, Katy Perry (seriously, I loved Katy), Nick Jonas… I was a diehard fan.

But now that I’m getting into my teenage years… well, I’m a bit more dark. The bubbly dance music is getting old, and so degrading. I am so sick of hearing about butts all over the radio. I don’t mind swearing so much in music, because most of the time it conveys emotion and passion, but once again humanity has turned something beautiful into a skanky mess.

Now, I turn to alternative and emo. With steampunk on the side.

Here’s what alternative is: An umbrella term used to describe music that is not played on mainstream radio or consumed by the mainstream audience, or whose music does not fall into any other genre. An example of an alternative music band is Pearl Jam.

Here’s what emo (or emotive) is: A style of rock music characterized by expressive, often confessional, lyrics. It originated in the mid-1980s hardcore punk movement of Washington, D.C., where it was known as “emotional hardcore” or “emocore” and pioneered by bands such as Rites of Spring and Embrace.

Here’s what steampunk is: Steampunk music is unique in that it’s not a musical style in the traditional sense. Rather, it’s music that blends in with the world of the future that never was, a soundtrack to a universe of retrocentric technology that invokes the feeling of living in the perfect Steampunk environment.

Don’t worry, I’m not going all goth on you! I still can’t really handle punk/metal (to be honest, all the screaming scares me). I’m a wuss when it comes to music, so I’ve turned to the lighter side of both of these genres.

SOME RECOMMENDATIONS

Now, obviously I haven’t been listening to alt/emo for very long yet, but I’ve already found some keeper bands. It helps that my amazing friend Rose is a hardcore fan of alt/emo/punk/metal, so I have a guide. Here are some bands you should consider listening to:

Coldplay

Their songs are soothing and heartfelt, and they have that certain symphony-esque sound to them.

Evanescence

Bitter and true. Also very melodious. Piano & rock are included.

Fall Out Boy

Very punk/alt, with mind-blowing bass and an excellent main singer.

One Republic

OK, OK, this one is pretty popular, but I still think they’re one of the best bands out there, and I consider them alternative as well.

Clocks and Clouds

My favorite steampunk creator ever, their songs are wonderful, heart-swelling triumphs that always make me want to dance.

******************

I have always treasured music, and I hope that I always will. It’s a beautiful form of expression and there are so many different genres and styles. I *used to* play the piano, and I hope to take up lessons again someday.

image

So, what are some of your favorite forms of music? Do you have any recommendations for me? I’d love to chat.

image

6 thoughts on “A Few Rambling Thoughts on Music

  1. I LOVE COLDPLAY AND ONE REPUBLIC AND FALL OUT BOY. They are all so amazing…also Imagine Dragons. And Civil Wars (although they’re kinda country…so shhhhh. Because I mostly don’t like country, but I DO like Civil Wars). XD I kind of seriously like the songs that tell stories and aren’t JUST about breakups. Music is seriously awesome.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MUSSSSIIIIC! Those bands are fantastic and that comment about pop music singing about butts made me laugh out loud haha.
    Yes. I like pop music *hides* but I am sick and tired of hearing the same messages sung over and over. I LOVE Selena Gomez but her song Good for you disgusts me. No one should have to feel like they need to look good for someone. I also love Taylor Swift and Ed Sheeran XD
    But I get where you are coming from with the depressingish music concept. My favorite FAVORITE people all sing depressing songs that are creepyish and awesome.
    Lana Del Rey, Zedd (not so depressing but I LOVE him and Avicii), Lorde (gosh I LOVE her) and Imagine Dragons… so a lot of pop :’D but they’re better than what’s on the radio…
    OH and I LOOOOOOOOOOOOVE John Newman! He is fabulous. And Fall Out Boy, gotta have some FOB 🙂
    I don’t like metal either, but I love this one band caled baby metal which is this mix of Japanese pop music and heavy metal sung by these 13 year olds. Its actually adorable and weird ^_^”
    Which brings me to Kpop. I LOVE Korean music. Seriously love it. I don’t even know a word of Korean which is depressing…
    Wow this comment is so long but I feel like still typing so.
    Thank you for putting us under the awesome blogs thing :’D that made my day you! WOOT WOOT! You rock!
    You and Angelina I think have a lot of music favorites in common, she’s a huge fan of alternative/indie music :)!
    Have a great weekend you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Brianna, yes! I agree with you! AVICII IS BAE! I definitely don’t hate pop, it’s just that most of the music now is so… dirty and awful. Back in 2013… Now, THAT was a good year for music, I think. The only realllly dirty song that I’ve ever loved is Blurred Lines. It was so sexist and pompous, but I loved that beat. I mean, come ON! 😎

      Like

  3. My music taste has always been a bit weird. I listen to country music, rock music, punk, pop, metal, indie, alternative. Just not rap. Ever.

    You’re as likely to find me listening to Rammstein as you are My Chemical Romance or Muse or Adele or 90s boybands *shrugs* makes life more interesting I think, not just sticking to one genre. Also, don’t let language barriers stop you, I love some Spanish, French and German artists and don’t speak a word of any of it lol

    Liked by 1 person

Care to chat?

