I’m Too Much of a Wimp To Read These Horror Novels

  This week’s Top Ten Tuesday was a Halloween freebie! And you all now how I looooove freebies. So, since I’m such a damn wimp around Halloween, I decided to share with you a few horror novels that I really really really want to read, but I’m too scared. Also, I might share with you some *slightly* creepy books that I’ve read in the hopes of recommending something to you. And all links will be to Goodreads.

Shall we proceed? *ominous screeching music plays*

1. Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by Various Authors

OH MY GOD. Some of my favorite YA authors have written stories for this book (including Marie Lu! Squee!) and I will never effing read it because I HAVE READ THE REVIEWS, PEOPLE. And apparently Marie Lu can works some physchological wonders that will leave you scared to go to bed.

2. The Exorcist by William Blatty

Demons are my jam, and this book is full of them. But the movie has freaked enough people out, and I’ve heard that a lot of horror-novel based movies don’t even have the full effect of the book. So, let’s not go down that road.

3. Dracula by Bram Stoker

OK, I’m not really too scared for this book. It’s just such a bore, I’m not sure if I’ll ever get the courage up just to slog through it.

4. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

I don’t care if this isn’t a true piece of horror fiction, it sounds scary enough for me. Gone Girl personally has me bored to tears, but her writing is pretty awesome and I’m so mad at myself because I’m not going to read it.

5. LITERALLY F**KING ANYTHING BY STEPHEN KING

Let’s just pick a few popular candidates, shall we? Carrie, It, Salem’s Lot, Pet Semetary, Under the Dome, and my favorite, The Shining. I just really want to read The Shining. Please.

Now for my recommendations…

6. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

I was brave enough to read this book, and I was rewarded in full! It was creepy, but not so much that I felt scared. It’s definitely more of a physchological thriller, and I loved how fascinating it was. Frankenstein’s monster… *sob*

7. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

This is definitely one of the legit freakiest YA books I’ve ever read. It’s not even really ‘scary’, but the physchological twists and thrills… I mean, it really sent chills up my spine. Mara is going freaking insane and killing people left and right. You just need to read it.

8. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

I know, I know! Not what you’d normally think of when someone says horror! But Shatter Me was actually pretty creepy, because Juliet’s mind was really kind of twisted, and Warner was the sickest villain I’ve ever read about.

9. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Urggghh, I’m really scraping the bottom of the barrel here, because I haven’t even read this entire book! BUT… I have read the first few pages, and it really scared me. This dude’s grandfather – but no spoilers. Just know that I almost had nightmares about it.

10. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon

I’m just going to go waaaaay out on a limb here and suggest to you a book about mental health. That’s right, it’s about autism, and I don’t freaking care. Judge me if you want. This book chilled me to the bone, because I went inside of Charlie’s mind and he was a bit messed up. He was a genius, but a messed up one nonetheless. And he takes this crazy train ride… In ENGLAND… It kind of messed with my head, and I’m sure it will mess with yours.

discuss

So, do you agree with any of my choices? Have you read any of these and want to share your thoughts? DON’T LEAVE SPOILERS THOUGH… Well, go ahead, it’s pointless, I’ll never read anything scary anyways. *cries silently*

image

19 thoughts on “I’m Too Much of a Wimp To Read These Horror Novels

  1. I’ve read about half of these books, and they’re all pretty good. I have to say that Frankenstein was my favorite, but I also loved Dracula. The Shining was also pretty good. It’s one of the few SK books I’ve completely finished.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OOOH, Frankenstein! YAY! Finally, someone to fangirl about it! I just feel so bad for Frankenstein’s monster, but the internal guilt that Dr. Frankenstein goes through is horrible too. There were some reallllly creepy parts too, like when that girl was found murdered. Uguggugugh *shivers*. But I love it. What are some of your fave parts?

      Like

  2. Oh my darling, I know exactly how you feel about this! I am terrified of reading horror or thrillers and avoid them like the plague.
    But don’t be afraid of Shatter Me, it’s not scary at all! And coming from a scaredy cat like me, that basically means Shatter Me is not scary AT ALL.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The: LITERALLY F**KING ANYTHING BY STEPHEN KING made me laugh! But yea, it is actually true. 🙂

    And… The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is also in my TBR! 🙂 I guess that would give me some creeps. 🙂

    I have read Shatter Me and The Curious Incident and I guess they are both good reads.

    🙂

    You may want to read my list, though I am not sure they are really so scary! 🙂 http://wp.me/p4ZhSl-jv

    Liked by 1 person

Care to chat?

