CUTE AND BUBBLY, BUT MOSTLY BORING // EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING BY NICOLA YOON

image“My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.”

I won’t lie, this book was reallllllly adorable and I had a heck of a lot of fun reading it. But the overall message of the story was… kind of pointless.

.

image

These characters were pretty damn cute. Madeline, our diseased main character, was adorable and original and a bloody bookworm. How can you not like that? Her mom was a very interesting woman who I would gladly have read an entire book about… her mind was just so interesting. Madeline’s nurse, Carla, just might have been my favorite character. She was a fun, stout Mexican woman who knew just what made Madeline happy. And finally, we come to Oliver (but we call him Olly). Olly was sweet and traumatized and thoughtful, and I also would have read an entire book about him. His entire backstory, with his abusive father and Goth sister, made him such an intriguing character, and I really would have liked to get to know him more.

Madeline & Olly’s relationship was just too cute. I especially liked the IM conversations, because they gave their snarky sides a chance to shine. A few of them made me laugh out loud. It was very beautiful. The only thing I disliked about it was that they felt like they needed to have discourse right away, and I think that should be saved for marriage. If not marriage, then definitely a longer-term relationship.

image

The real issue I had with this book was the plot. I disliked so much of it, but I’m going to narrow it down to the top three:

1. The so-called ‘twist’ was very predictable and easily noticeable from around the 2/3 mark. Also, since it came at the very end, left WAY too much to the imagination. I want a trilogy exploring Madeline’s mental and physical journey afterwards, and what happened between her and Olly. IT’S NOT FAIR!

2. Madeline literally fell in love with the first boy she ever met. This reminds me SO BADLY of Juliette and Adam from the Shatter Me trilogy. When Madeline realizes that there are other guys in the world for her to fall in love with, will she stay with Olly? I’m not as mad with this one, because their relationship was so damn adorable, but still… it needed to be noticed.

3. The entire middle of this book was boring. Madeline lives in a sterile house with no friends and processed EVERYTHING. Books, clothes, food, etc. It makes sense, because she is allergic to everything, but there was almost no spark of interesting-ness until she made a decision about her life! Olly was fine, but there were limited visits with him, and then she just went back to her room. I kinda wish Nicola Yoon had made something float in there that had triggered a reaction from Madeline, because then at least something would have happened.

image

φ Cute characters

φ Fun romance

φ Very fast (it took me 3 hours to read this book)

BUT…

φ Boring plot

φ Meh twist

φ Unrealistic love story

image

I would definitely recommend this to fans of TFIOS, Rainbow Rowell, and Morgan Matson. I enjoyed reading it, and it was a unique idea, but it just didn’t get fleshed out enough. Send me your fanfiction!

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆ = Enjoyable

BOOK INFO:

Format & Pages: Hardcover, 320 // Published: September 1st, 2015 //
Add to Goodreads | Buy on Amazon

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

image

So, will you be reading Everything, Everything? Have you read it? What did you think? I love chatting with you guys! And please tell me I’m not alone in wishing that the overall message had been a little bit stronger!

9 thoughts on “CUTE AND BUBBLY, BUT MOSTLY BORING // EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING BY NICOLA YOON

  1. I’ve heard so many great things about this, so it’s interesting to read a mediocre review of it. I can completely see where you’re coming from though – if the plot is boring, the whole story kind of falls apart as a result. 😦 Thanks for sharing though and, as always, great review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel you on this :o. Everything Everything WAS SOOOOOOOOO CUTE, and those chats were 1000000% adorable, like come on XD you gotta love them right?! I did but didn’t love the twist! Ok I thought it was interesting and did, like you said, wanted to know what happened afterwords. The thing is, why couldn’t she *SPOILERS* Why is everyone magically and all that jazz. I get that her mom had that… mental disorder I can’t think of where they poison their kids kinda but come OOOOON *END*
    BUT YES CUTENESS OVERLOAD haha, glad it was ok, sorry it was boring 😦
    Have a great day!

    Like

    • HEY! Super sorry that I had to edit your comment, but I just didn’t want anyone to get spoiled from the comments. 🙂 those chats tho. I FREAKING FELL IN LOVE WITH OLLY. He is so adorable. If she actually DID *spoilery thing you know what I’m talking ’bout*, then it DEFINITELY would’ve been more interesting. I would’ve loved to learn about her journey with that throughout the rest of her life. 😉

      Like

  3. hehe I totally agree. XD And I’m glad you saw through the “plot twist” too, because omg I called it RIGHT FROM THE BEGINNING and it bugged me so. so. much. Because I felt like Madeleine was kind of unintelligent to not even suspect anything?!? I mean, seriously?! She never even EVER got sick. And I mean I do get the falling-in-love-with-the-first-boy-she-met, but I do NOT get that if Olly REALLY liked her back, why he’d be like “Let’s go to Hawaii for a last hurrah and not worry if you die!” Seriously???? Ugh. -_-

    Like

    • THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR JUST BEING A HUMAN BEING AND GETTING HOW MUCH THIS IS AN IRKING PLOT. And, Olly, WTF? Do you reallly care about her? Because it doesn’t seem like it. I would’ve thought someone with an abusive father and tough childhood would understand how important it is to take care of people. *sigh… shoves book away*

      Like

Care to chat?

