WHY DID I TAKE SOOOO LONG TO READ NEW RELEASES LAST YEAR?! // TTT #11

top ten tuesday

Hello again! It’s been a long while since I posted, and I hope you’ll all forgive the brief hiatus. I got really sick for over two weeks, and just barely had enough energy to draft a few posts for the coming week. But I’m feeling lots better now, and after some hard Sherlock marathoning and a few cups of tea, I’ll be right back on track.

It’s Tuesday, and we all know what that means: it’s time to link up with my good friends over at The Broke and Bookish for Top Ten Tuesday! This week, we’re lamenting over our egregious lollygagging (a.k.a listing how many books published in 2015 that we failed to read).

So, join me while I moan and groan over my lack of keeping up-to-date with current releases, because who doesn’t find that entertaining? *laughs at own misery*

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Ah, the rave of last year! I heard many amazing things about how this book challenges our grasp of politics and authority, and how bitingly realistic the writing is, and yet I didn’t pick it up. I don’t know why, I was just a lazy potato. But this is extremely high on my TBR, because the sequel is coming out soon, and I CANNOT STAY OFF TUMBLR FOR LONG DUE TO POSSIBLE SPOILERS. JUST NO.

Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Now, I actually have a reason for why I held off reading this glorious… prequel? Sequel? It’s a ‘3.5’ on Goodreads, and I’m not sure what the term for that is, but ANYWAY. Apparently, I’ve heard that people’s opinions on Queen Levana were changed after reading this book, and I didn’t want to be spoiled even in the slightest before I read Winter. I’m actually realllly glad that I didn’t read this book, because I have a funny feeling that it would have spoiled me about a big… something, in Winter. But now I must read it because I yearnnnn for extras! This series cannot be dead! Nooooooo!

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Can you believe that I actually was so stupid as to have this glorious book in my very own hands after waiting for MONTHS from the library, and yet I didn’t even read more than two chapters. I picked it up, I started, but I just didn’t feel like another epic rebellion fantasy, so I put it back down. *ughghghg why was I so foolish*

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

A YA book about a heist? Not a very common thing. But neither was the premise for Leigh Bardugo’s other series, The Grisha Trilogy. And that trilogy has been given quite a lot of love. But once again, I didn’t remember to pick up a copy, and… yeah. That was a flop on my part, because I realllllllly want to read this book. Have you read it? Did you enjoy it?

The Rose Society by Marie Lu

I READ THE YOUNG ELITES AND F***ING LOVED IT. SO WHY DIDN’T I PICK THIS GLORIOUS SEQUEL UP AS SOON AS IT WAS RELEASED?! My mind is a strange and wondrous thing, and while it remembers a Tumblr post about quoting Moriarty and how you’ve got to admit that that’s sexier, it fails to remember that a dark, twisted, much beloved fantasy book filled with answers to my questions is coming out. I have given up my sanity to Sherlock. *quitely hums theme song*

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Carry on my wayward sooo-oo-oon, there’ll be peace when you are doo-ooone… I’m sorry, I’m sorry! I’ve only watched ONE FRICKING EPISODE of that show, and yet somehow that song is stuck in my head. I didn’t exactly love Fangirl, but I actually really enjoyed the snippets of Carry On that we got in the book, so this book… Gahh, I should have read it! *I can’t come up with any more unique ways to say I failed* *help*

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

I have a veeeeeeeerry sad story to go along with why I didn’t read THIS book (bookworms, you will relate too hardly). So I was on vacation in Vermont, and I visit this adorable little bookshop. It’s raining extremely hard outside, and I only have about 15 minutes to choose a book. I get chatty with the clerk (stupid, stupid!), and before I know it, my time’s up and I have to choose. The clerk recommended The Wrath and the Dawn to me, but she said it was racy, and I don’t know what should I pick hellllllp?!?! I’m spiraling in a mass of panic, and I grab whatever book looks interesting (not The Wrath and the Dawn), and then as soon as I get home: BAM! “Have you read The Wrath and the Dawn?” “The Wrath and the Dawn wins 1,000 global prizes for challenging our views on culture and feminism!” Meanwhile, for the book I picked: “Erm… That book kinda sucked. How many reviews does it have? 50…. ahhh…” SO FRUSTRATING OH MY GOD.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Another brilliantly unique book full of interesting plotlines and adorable characters (or so I’ve been told), and yet I DID NOT READ. WHY DID I NOT READ THIS. Life is full of mysteries.

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

I actually don’t know very much about this book,  only that JesstheReader over on YouTube really enjoyed it, so I guess I regret not giving it a try. *shrugs*

Simon V.S. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

THIS BOOK. The praise it has gotten for being adorable, heartfelt, innovating, funny, and romantic is endless. And I didn’t read it! I’m not sure why, I guess I never got a chance to pick up a copy, but this book is extremely high on my list, I promise you.

**************

So that wraps up this week’s Top Ten Tuesday! You know, I should really just call it Top Ten Wednesday, because I’m always late. *le sigh* But thanks for reading, and I’ll see you soon with a post of… something. 😀

let's chat

Did you miss any of these books last year? DO YOU REGRET IT WITH PAIN?! Because God knows I do. What other releases did you forget to pick up? Let us wallow in sorrow together!

Care to chat?

