CHAOTIC BATTLE AND I THINK I’M IN LOVE // DAYS OF BLOOD & STARLIGHT BY LAINI TAYLOR

Too much happened and THE WORLD WENT INSANE (all of them), but I still loved every second of it. Zuzana is the f***ing best, man.

And on a rather amazing side note, I think I’m in love with Akiva, our tortured angelic friend. He is the most loyal boyfriend of EVER. But it also helps that he has a smokin’ hot body *quite literally, hahaha*


imageedit_12_5218833938

Days of Blood & Starlight 

Format & Pages: Hardcover, 517

Published: Nov 6th, 2012

Add to Goodreads | Buy on Amazon

COVER REVIEW: Possibly my favorite out of the trilogy. The red stands out  stunningly, and it’s just SO PREEEETTY. 


**WARNING**

This is a review of a SEQUEL, the first book being Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Please visit my spoiler-free review of that book if you have not yet read Days of Blood and Starlight. Otherwise, keep on reading! 

synopsis

Laini Taylor seriously upped her character game in this book. In DS&B, we got maybe… six main characters? And then there were some background people, but that was about it. NOW WE HAVE BEEN BLESSED WITH THOUSANDS OF CHIMAERA AND SERAPHIM. And it is glorious.

Let’s chat about Karou and Akiva for a bit, eh? Previously, they were a long-lost couple slowly getting back together. Then the bomb dropped, and Karou was fricking DONE with him. That broke my poor little fangirl heart, let me tell you. But then, throughout the entire sequel, we are forced to endure her moooaning and groooaaaaning because she misses Akiva. GURL. GET OVER YOURSELF. You dumped him because he blew up the chimaera race, and while that is a serious deal-breaker, you clearly love him too much to NOT forgive him. I was really happy when they got back together… although, now that I think about it, what kind of a make-up is that?! Seriously, though, staring at each other dazedly from opposite sides of a room? You two need to kiss and hug and be friends again.

THIAGO. THAT SUNUFAHBITCH. God, I hated him. He was such a stuck-up prick, and he hurt Karou soooo much, sooo deeply. UAGHGAHGHGH, just thinking about him makes me want to throw something across the room. *ok breathe deeply* And he tried to rape her!?! That scene was possibly the most terrifying thing I’ve ever read. It was just so dark and brutal and left me with a chilly feeling inside. Thank all of the fangirling world that she managed to kill him, because otherwise… *shudder* I don’t even want to think about it.

Zuzana and Mik remain my favorite couple in the history of ever. They are just too adorable. Especially Mik, he is a sweet-hearted raindrop with a violin. Zuzana is more of a rabid fairy, to quote Karou, but I love her all the better for it. HER EYEBROW-ARCHING IS A THING TO BEHOLD. *bows down to the eyebrow*

…I just have to say one quick thing in adoration of Issa, because she is the most amazing and maternal and caring monster in the world and I love her to death. OK, OK, I’m done.

plot

This plot was not quite as jaw-dropping as DS&B… I mean, we basically holed up in a sand castle and created monsters, while Akiva went and said sorry to his siblings. BUT IT WAS STILL EPIC AND THE NEXT BOOK IS GOING TO BE EVEN BETTER.

The overall theme of war here was really quite dark, though. I don’t think I’ve ever experienced such feelings of crushed hopes and dejection and frustrationfff as I did while reading this book. There’s just so much death and sadness… Not that I’m someone who can’t handle gore. That’s never really been a problem for me.

prosandcons

♥ Luscious, beautiful, unique writing

♥ Outstanding characters

♥ HUGGGEE plot developments

BUT…

♥ That rape scene was just awful *don’t know if that counts as a con, because I didn’t dislike it as a piece of writing, but whatevs*

♥ THE FEELS YOU WILL FEEL: beware, this is both fangirl heaven and fangirl hell

final

Ahhh, it was just an amazing journey all around and I can’t wait to pick up the third and FINAL book in the trilogy! But really, it’s more of a sixtet, because each book is at least two books long.imageedit_10_6312452536

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

imageTaylor was born in Chico, California, and has an English degree from UC Berkeley. She currently lives in Portland, Oregon with her husband and daughter. She always wanted to be a writer, but was 35 before she finished her first novel. In 2004 she wrote a graphic novel for Image Comics, illustrated by her husband Jim Di Bartolo. Her first novel, Dreamdark: Blackbringer was published in 2007, the sequel for which was a winner of the 2009 Cybil Award. However, she is best known for the Daughter of Smoke and Bone young adult fantasy series. The first book in the series was chosen by Amazon as the Best Teen Book of 2011, and the sequel, Days of Blood and Starlight, was also on the list for 2012. Joe Roth is attached as producer for a film project of the first book in the series.

lezchatt

SQUEEEE. Who else just adores this trilogy? It is so full of funny characters and epic monsters and loveliness. I feel like I age sooo much when I read them, does anyone else get that same feeling? LOL please leave your fangirling comments.

One thought on “CHAOTIC BATTLE AND I THINK I’M IN LOVE // DAYS OF BLOOD & STARLIGHT BY LAINI TAYLOR

Care to chat?

