EVERYTHING IS AWESOOOME, EVERYTHING IS COOL WHEN YOU’RE LIVING A DREAM // DREAMS OF GODS & MONSTERS BY LAINI TAYLOR

**WARNING**

The following review contains spoilers galore. If you have not yet read Dreams of Gods and Monsters, then please go over to my review of Daughter of Smoke and Bone or Days of Blood and Starlight. Otherwise, please keep reading, my lovely cupcake!

Wow. This was a surprisingly well concluded finale to the trilogy, but I shouldn’t have guessed any less from the fabulous Laini Taylor. It tied up all the loose ends, concluded the plot satisfactorily, and ALL MY SHIPS CAME TO SHORE. YES.

The heart-stopping, sad moments were aplenty, but then again, there was Zuzana, and she lightens up almost any chapter. Seriously, her and Mik are #relationshipgoals.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

Format & Pages: Hardcover, 613 // Published: April 8th, 2014
Add to Goodreads | Buy on Amazon

imageBy way of a staggering deception, Karou has taken control of the chimaera rebellion and is intent on steering its course away from dead-end vengeance. The future rests on her, if there can even be a future for the chimaera in war-ravaged Eretz.

Common enemy, common cause.

When Jael’s brutal seraph army trespasses into the human world, the unthinkable becomes essential, and Karou and Akiva must ally their enemy armies against the threat. It is a twisted version of their long-ago dream, and they begin to hope that it might forge a way forward for their people. And, perhaps, for themselves. Toward a new way of living, and maybe even love.

But there are bigger threats than Jael in the offing. A vicious queen is hunting Akiva, and, in the skies of Eretz … something is happening. Massive stains are spreading like bruises from horizon to horizon; the great winged stormhunters are gathering as if summoned, ceaselessly circling, and a deep sense of wrong pervades the world.

What power can bruise the sky?

From the streets of Rome to the caves of the Kirin and beyond, humans, chimaera and seraphim will fight, strive, love, and die in an epic theater that transcends good and evil, right and wrong, friend and enemy. At the very barriers of space and time, what do gods and monsters dream of? And does anything else matter?

synopsis

Karou, I feel, was a little less helpful in this book than the previous two? She just kind of hung around and planned, which is NOT bad, but I kind of missed her being more in the line of action. Also, her spunk really took a beating. Where was that sassy, witty Karou that we met in the first book?! I missed that, but she also grew a lot, and her maturity showed real character development.

AKIVA WAS AMAZING. So now he’s this powerful magus who’s been taking power from the worlds without giving anything for it?! Way to throw a twist at us! I loved reading about him exploring this deep well of power inside of him… It kind of reminded me of Sherlock’s mind palace *Sherlockians, if you get this, then leave a comment saying, “Miss me?” and I will be satisfied* But how can the series have ended on this note?!? There are too many chapters that still need to be written about Akiva’s sexy emotional ‘sendings’ to Karou, and how she *possibly* learns to do magic with him, and how… arrrgh, just too many! Still, it was an amazing development for him, and really makes him stick out as a character.

Zuzana and Mik = best fricking couple ever. I know I said this in my review of the last book, but I’m going to say it again. THEY ARE JUST THE CUTEST. I literally squealed when I read about them riding the stormhunter. Just chillin on the back of a gigantic magical bird with an angel riding alongside, lost in a sea of mountains. You know, the usual. *giggles wildly* I got soooo scared when Zuzana started losing herself because she’d been in that battle. WE CANNOT LOSE THE ONLY LIGHT-HEARTEDNESS IN THIS BOOK. But then she started complaining about chocolate cake, and everything was normal again. Phew!

You know who I thought was going to be the most boring character in this book? Eliza. Or should I say Elaezel? I don’t know, but nevertheless, she turned into an epic angel-hero-descendant thingie, and I was so happy for her. I still don’t exactly understand her backstory… was she the descendant of the 12 Faerers, or was she an actual Faerer reincarnated? Whatever it was, she was awesome. Her friendship with Zuzana was so sweet! Zuzana’s just stunned by this glowing person with wings, but then slowly realizes that she’s really cool and relaxed, and wants to be her friend. FANGURL MOMENT RIGHT THERE.

As for Razgut and Jael… well, Razgut still freaks the shit out of me. He is one disgusting creature. But his backstory was so sad! I don’t want to feel bad for him, buuut I can’t seem to help it. However, I cannot believe that they didn’t immediately kill Jael. What if he escapes?! I know Liraz is going to watch over him (aka torture him until he dies), but still. Gimme a break. Just kill him.

Speaking of Liraz… Her and Ziri! YAAAASSSS! I called that ship about a quarter of the way into the book, and I am so happy that it actually sailed. They are adorable together. Liraz is a pine needle and he is a cupcake, and they will live together and complete each other and yes. I actually really liked Liraz. At first, she was a Queen B, but then… she warmed up Mik and Zuzana with her wings. Awwwwwwwwwww, just thinking about that scene gives me warm fuzzies inside. She had that frustrating internal battle, and then just gave up. *gives excited squeal* I knew she had a heart of gold, though. I just knew it.

plot

What to say about this plot?! So much happened! I’m kind of dissappointed that they didn’t have a huge epic battle on Earth, because that would have been just amazing to read about. On the other hand, this war was just so brutal and so heart-wrenching that I’m glad it’s over, for Karou’s sake. And, on the plus side, they defeated her evil bitch grandmother, so that was a huge plus. SUCK IT, GRANDMA. God, I hated that woman.

The Cataclysm story was huge, though. It gave me shudders just thinking about these gigantic monsters that kept breaking through the portals and killing everyone. Jesus. And it was NOT fair to the Faerers that they were exiled, because it was their master who was power hungry, and sent them out there. They tried their best, damnit! *sigh*

It was a really satisfying ending, though. THAT LAST SCENE. It made me cry. “And they both pulled.” SO adorable and sad and beautiful and gaaaaaah. Laini Taylor, how do you bring out such feels in me?! I really liked how it was a reasonable conclusion. Not everything is bubbles and sunshine. There’s a cold winter coming ahead, they literally said they expected to starve a little, there’s ruin and destruction everywhere, and there’s just a general aura of loss. But they’re working towards a brighter future, and they’ve already started rebuilding the city. What a fantastic way to wrap up a trilogy.

prosandcons

♥ EVERYTHING WAS AMAZING WHY DO WE NEED A PROS LIST

BUT…

♥ EVERYTHING WAS AMAZING WHY DO WE NEED A CONS LIST

final

This trilogy took me ages to read, but I’m glad for it. It was a heart-swelling, dangerous, emotional, dark journey, but it was seriously one of the most epic series I’ve ever read, and I’ll remember it as a favorite.

imageedit_10_6312452536

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Taylor was born in Chico, California, and has an English degree from UC Berkeley. She currently lives in Portland, Oregon with her husband and daughter. She always wanted to be a writer, but was 35 before she finished her first novel. In 2004 she wrote a graphic novel for Image Comics, illustrated by her husband Jim Di Bartolo. Her first novel, Dreamdark: Blackbringer was published in 2007, the sequel for which was a winner of the 2009 Cybil Award. However, she is best known for the Daughter of Smoke and Bone young adult fantasy series.

lezchatt

I’m assuming you’ve all read the entire trilogy (if you read this review), so PLEASE leave comments chock-full of spoilers down below. Did you enjoy the ending? What were your favorite scenes and characters? AND DON’T FORGET: THERE’S A MOVIE COMING.

2 thoughts on “EVERYTHING IS AWESOOOME, EVERYTHING IS COOL WHEN YOU’RE LIVING A DREAM // DREAMS OF GODS & MONSTERS BY LAINI TAYLOR

    • That’s awesome, another fan to chat with. Who was your favorite character? I personally loved Zuzana, she was so spunky and funny. Also, Erika ended up being a VERY interesting character! But I think my favorite of all was Liraz, she developed so much and… I just adored her personality. I’m always a sucker for the bad boy/girl.

      Like

Care to chat?

