SOME RANDOM TIPS & TRICKS // THE SECRET LIFE OF A BOOK BLOGGER TAG

o21100bleh

I’m sure you’ve all been wondering about my secrets. My deepest, most intimate fears and worries. The things that scare me. The darkest corners of my mind, and the whispers that fly around my soul, haunting me at night….

Well, sorry! This post isn’t for you. But, if you want to hear about some notes & experiences from a *fairly* experienced blogger, then, by all means, read on.

Before you ask, no, I wasn’t tagged by anyone. But this tag is so fun and interesting that I just had to do it. Kudos to Mishma at Read at Midnight for inspiration and finally pushing me to write this.

Untitled-1
HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN A BLOGGER?

Let’s see. I started this blog back in early June of 2015, so technically I’ve been blogging for just about a month shy of a year. However, I took a huge break from January to April, so I would say that I’ve only been really blogging for six months. And waaaaay before this blog was even created, I had a really frickin old book blog that I maintained for about a year. And no, I will not give you a link to it.

Untitled-1

AT WHAT POINT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL STOP BLOGGING?

No blogger would ever answer this question with a set date. I hope. I don’t see this blog continuing for the rest of my life, but I would hope I’ll keep it through high school and college. After that… who knows?

Untitled-1

WHAT IS THE BEST THING ABOUT BLOGGING?

THERE ARE SO MANY THOUGH. One of my favorite feelings is when I design a splendiferous feature image. Being an artist, graphic design is a fun challenge, and it’s always exciting when you get all the fonts, colors, and images right. Also, when a fellow bookworm posts about a book you recently read, and you can fangirl with them until dawn, and you just ramble to each other on Twitter for hours and hours = #paradise.

Untitled-1

WHAT IS THE WORST THING? WHAT DO YOU DO TO MAKE IT OK?

Hehe, just thinking about this one set my nerves running. One of the most treacherous parts of blogging is the SAVE DRAFT button. It haunts my nightmares. Sometimes it greys out and you can’t save, sometimes the browser restarts, sometimes *kneads forehead in frustration* your computer will shut down. It is just terrifying.

Untitled-1

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO MAKE OR FIND PICTURES TO USE?

I’m not a photographer. I want to try it someday, but I don’t actually have a camera, so… Google is my best friend. I use Photoshop CS4, and it generally takes about half an hour to come up with my feature images. Occasionally I’ll go through total style rehauls, and create different signatures and headers, and that can take hours, but that’s only once a year or less.

Untitled-1

WHO IS YOUR BOOK CRUSH?

ROWAN ROWAN ROWAN. Rowan Whitethorn, the sexiest Fae you will ever meet. I seriously would suggest picking up the Throne of Glass series just to meet him, he’s sassy, protective, appreciative, and just all-around swoon-worthy. *le faint*

Untitled-1

WHAT AUTHOR WOULD YOU LOVE TO HAVE ON YOUR BLOG?

There are too many. Sarah J. Maas instantly comes to mind, because I’ve watched and read interviews of her, and she seems like a chill person who would just rant and rave with me all day long. But I’d also like to feature Maggie Stiefvater, because CAIT GRACE (@paperfury) HAS CONVERTED ME TO HER BOOKS AND DEAR GOD, HOW IS SHE SO BRILLIANT?!?! I MUST KNOW.

Untitled-1

WHAT DO YOU WEAR WHEN YOU WRITE YOUR BLOG POSTS?

My leather tunic and slippers. And I am surrounded by roses, lemonade, and cupcakes.

Untitled-1

HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT THE BOOK BLOGGER COMMUNITY?

How are we all so nice to each other? Everyone else always seems to be hatin’, but I have legit never met a book blogger/vlogger who wasn’t extravagantly polite to me. It must be in our bookworm genes. *nods sagely*

Untitled-1

WHAT DO YOU THINK ONE SHOULD DO TO GET A SUCCESSFUL BLOG?

(A) Have a clean and minimalistic design. Aesthetically pleasing themes & fonts will literally catch people’s eyes. (B) Promote. Don’t be annoying, but promote. And join linkups. (C) CREATE AN ARMY OF FRIENDS. No, I’m serious, do this. Make all the friends you possibly can on Twitter and Instagram and the internet. Chat constantly and do blogging things with them.

breaker-1

TAGGED: @PaperFury // @ReadWriteLove28 // @ZoeReads // EVERYONE

So, can you relate to any of these as a blogger yourself? Are you thinking of becoming a book blogger? And I seriously have a huge question for the writers of the world (if any of them read this post): DOES THE SAVE DRAFT BUTTON SCARE THE SHIT OUT OF YOU TOO?!

signature

One thought on “SOME RANDOM TIPS & TRICKS // THE SECRET LIFE OF A BOOK BLOGGER TAG

Care to chat?

